make your mama proud

photo by popmisa via flickr

It’s so sweet to have a little one for whom fête-ing her Mama still makes her shiver with excitement. I’ve broken the news to her that I actually never really liked breakfast in bed, something about it being uncomfortable and all that. And I let her and the rest of the clan know that really, if someone would make me a couple of fried eggs with toast I would be just in nirvana.

Which, of course, reminds me of my Mother, who always told me that having someone cook for you was the ultimate treat.

It’s kind of sad on Mother’s Day (yea, I know it’s a made-up holiday and bla-bla-bla but for me it’s one made-up holiday worth celebrating) to not have a mama. I know, I cannot complain for I am a mother of the most fortunate with a family who makes me swoon with joy. But there is something about not having your own that makes one a bit wistful about lost moments.

And what of those who not only have lost their own mothers, but are not mothers of their own children? (We women, in the end, are mothers to many besides those we give birth to.)

I’ve spent plenty of holidays alone and know that once you sink into a good book or a good movie (or even a good pint of mocha java chip ice cream) and out of that momentary melancholy of realizing everyone is celebrating and you are not… well, you kind of forget that it’s even a holiday. And life goes on.

Mr. Kristof of the Times has a lovely idea, and that is to donate. He suggests giving to the organization begun by a Somali woman whose efforts have not only saved countless women’s lives but also has given them access to birth control and family planning and a hope that someday there will be an end to the barbarity of female genital mutilation. According to the article, here (which also gives the full story of this admirable woman, Edna Adan and gives links to hers and other organizations working for women’s health and wellbeing), every 90 seconds a woman somewhere dies in childbirth.

When I was pregnant and filled with worries (with some justification, or so they thought, thankfully my child was fine) I used to walk the streets of the city and remind myself that for every person I saw there was a woman who successfully gave birth to them.

Everyone has or had a mother and if not on Mother’s Day, then any day or days of your choosing it’s a good idea to take a moment to thank her, silently or out loud. There are many ways to do this, one of which is to celebrate all mothers. Or one. Or two. But do celebrate.

Leave a Reply

