stumbling upon jason lee’s beauties

Gotta love stumbleupon for quick fixes of smiles and inspiration of all kinds. Found this today, posted by Alice on My Modern Metropolis. Her post is an interview with a photographer named Jason Lee who, among other brilliancies, portrays his daughters in a series of always sweet, often hilarious images. Many of these are displayed on her blog post, and others on Jason’s blog, here. In Alice’s interview with him he says this (please insert whatever your passion is for photography…):

Q: Do you have any advice for aspiring photographers?
A: Don’t be afraid to experiment. Take notes. When you have an idea, jot it down somewhere for later. Practice, practice, practice. Start a 365 project, or at least try to shoot something on a consistent basis.

Q: Any quotes you live by?
A: Like in Finding Nemo, Dori advises “just keep swimming, just keep swimming.” Replace swimming with taking pictures and I think you have a winning formula : )

Keep swimming, indeed!

4 thoughts on “stumbling upon jason lee’s beauties

  1. I’m familiar with Jason Lee’s work and his photos always seem to bring a smile to my face! My daughter is quite the fan as well! What I love the most about his work is how his quirky scenarios and how the colors just pop! I wish I had a better camera so I could “swim” better! hee hee!

Leave a Reply

