letters dancing in their seats

image by camil tulcan via flickr

Forgive me for changing the design of this blog with seeming frivolous conceit. I actually quite liked the old theme but the widgets weren’t widgeting properly. One day I will learn how to design my own, but for now I checked every one of the nearly 200 wordpress templates and this was the one that best met my desire for a blog that is simple, clean, readable. I am impossible to please, and I hope you are too.

“In a badly designed book, the letters mill and stand like starving horses in a field. In a book designed by rote, they sit like stale bread and mutton on the page. In a well-made book, where designer, compositor and printer have all done their jobs, no matter how many thousands of lines and pages, the letters are alive. They dance in their seats. Sometimes they rise and dance in the margins and aisles.”

(Bringhurst/The Elements of Typographic Style)

Leave a Reply

