first, we listen (healers)

Wasn’t planning on posting, wasn’t planning on doing much tonight, other than feed my brain and my soul… which I did, and my heart which seems always full to bursting…

…but could not resist sharing here two things that came onto my radar, coincidentally on the same day, which reminded me of the power we all have to heal, even if we are not trained. A simple smile, a gentle touch, a bit of empathy. Beautiful reminders.

First, from Steve McCurry’s blog (which I highly recommend you subscribe to, his images make me soar and tumble with awe at the magnitude of life), “The Healer’s Art,” images from around the world, many of children, which illustrate the magic of touch, or connection.

And then this video, via Krista Tippett’s “On Being“…

6 thoughts on “first, we listen (healers)

  1. This video moved me, too, dear soul. And honestly..it is how I feel every time I go out in public. I think that’s why I need to be alone a lot. To come back to myself. Happy Spring, my friend. Thinking of you and sending you love…beautiful healer.

  2. Thank you for sharing that, very inspiring, more compassion such a good thing. I am reminded of a lesson text I used recently about kindness, an experiment was carried out in a primary school recently where children had to perform 3 acts of kindness each day and then report back at the end of the week, the results were stunning, not just how their attitudes to each other changed, how the atmosphere in the class changed, but how necessary it is to actually teach kindness, since ft seems few of us are born with the altruistic gene. I wished they would do this in every school and all children learn the power of altruism. Well adults too, but hope for the future lies with the young I think.

    1. I have read some of the buzz that our altruism is genetically wired, but I also agree so strongly with you that kindness can and should be taught, if only by example. Nature vs. nurture and all that, but as a parent I am very conscious of encouraging my children to be empathetic to others. I often think that children raised in our increasingly me me me society are at a disadvantage, not necessarily in getting ahead but in finding happiness and love while doing so. I also wonder if the fact that many (including my own) children have less exposure to the elderly, to the infirm, does not contribute to this. Thanks for your thoughts (and your tweet!).

      1. I’m not knowledgeable about how much is genetically wired, but I do believe we all have the potential within us which if it isn’t our natural way of being, to always think of others before ourselves, can be a conscious decision we make, much of Buddhist thought works on this basis and provides some wonderful practical resources for getting there – even Gandhi started out in life with a different purpose and had his own flaws – I think you are right that it is definitely a key to happiness and contentedness.

        In the survey which I link to here, it seems that being the recipient of a genuine kind act (for no personal gain on the part of the other) helps to promote the same instinct in the receiver, it seems so simple, yet the playground is such a mix of personalities thrown together and kindness isn’t one of the top survival tools. I’m advocating it with my two as much as possible, seeds planting early having a better chance of enduring.

      2. That is so true. I remember, years later and with great vividness, the kind acts of others. I love your idea of the playground as a great place to start. If only some of the adults we come across had had the same seeds sown in them from an early age!

Leave a Reply

